It Begins at Midnight

NaNoWriMo 2014 is practically here.  Starting at midnight writers around the world will begin writing their novels.  They will all be attempting to write 50,000 words in only 30 days.  That breaks down to 1667 words per day.  There will be many who succeed.  There will also be many who will wash out in the first week or two.

 

In years past that has been me.  You may remember that rant from my last post about NaNo.

 

But that will not be me this year.  I’m determined.

 

I still have no idea what the story is.  I don’t know who all the characters are or what they want or what the plot line is.  But I’ve been reading No Plot? No Problem! by Chris Baty, the founder of NaNoWriMo.  He seems to be a pantser like me and he outlines how to write a book in a month without actually knowing what the story is.  With that helpful book beside me, I think I can do it this year.

 

I suppose we’ll see for sure, but I’m going to outline my plan right now, so that I have some accountability for it.  I plan on writing for at least two hours every day.  I’m weird and I write everything by hand first, so I plan to begin my writing day by typing up what I wrote the day before.  This is not to edit.  I will NOT edit.  I’m promising myself to leave Irene (my Inner Editor) locked up for the month.  This is purely so that I have a word count I can put up and so that I don’t have to try to finish all 50k words in 25 days so that I have time to type up all of them in order to verify my word count at the end of the month.  Plus it will help orient me back into the story every day.

 

I also plan on giving regular updates on the blogs (this one and my personal blog erinschlomach.wordpress.com) just to let everyone know how it is going.  You may see some posts that are just numbers (the word count) and I will probably share frustrations and triumphs.

 

So, here it goes.  I’m diving in.  Here’s hoping I won’t drown.

Leave a Reply

